Events Calendar

APMD Conference 2021

Call for Abstracts

The Alliance for the Prevention of Mental Disorders (APMD) would like to invite you to the 3rd APMD Conference, to be held immediately prior to the 2022 Society for Mental Health Research (SMHR) Conference in Hobart, Australia.

The APMD 2022 Conference will be held from 11am – 4pm on Wednesday 23rd March 2022 at the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Hobart. The Conference will include interactive discussions focusing on the latest Australian research relating to the prevention of mental disorders.

Registration is available as part of the SMHR Conference Registration. The $100 registration fee covers room hire and catering. To register for SMHR and the APMD Conference please click here. If you are not planning to attend SMHR but would like to attend the APMD Conference, please contact Nicola Reavley at

Confirmed speakers for the day include:

  • Professor Harriet Hiscock (Murdoch Children’s Research Institute): Centre for Research Excellence in Childhood Adversity and Mental Health: A co-located, integrated care response to childhood adversity
  • Professor Maree Teesson & A/Prof Cath Chapman (The Matilda Centre, University of Sydney): Update on the NHMRC CRE in Prevention and Early Intervention in Mental Illness and Substance Use (PREMISE)
  • Professor Helen Christensen (Black Dog Institute, UNSW): Update on the NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Suicide Prevention (CRESP) 
  • Professor Nicola Reavley (University of Melbourne) & Dr Monika Raniti (Murdoch Children’s Research Institute): Social determinants of mental health in young people
  • Dr Emma Barrett (The Matilda Centre, University of Sydney): Trauma, substance use and targets for prevention
  • Dr Sally Fitzpatrick (Everymind) & Dr Simon Baker (Black Dog Institute, UNSW): Update on The Prevention Hub

Thanks to the generous support of Australian Rotary Health, we will again be able to offer awards for research excellence in mental health prevention. See here for more information.

We look forward to seeing you in Hobart!

Best wishes,
Prof Nicola Reavley & A/Prof Nicola Newton
APMD President & Vice President

Dr Katrina Champion & Dr Simon Baker

APMD ECR Representatives